Saunders Named NABC First Team All-District

March 16, 2010

Complete list of NABC All-District Teams Get Acrobat Reader

PITTSBURGH - Duquesne junior forward Damian Saunders has been named First Team All-District 4 by the National Association of Basketball Coaches, it was announced today.

Saunders was joined on the NABC District 4 First Team by Temple's Lavoy Allen, Richmond's Kevin Anderson, Xavier's Jordan Crawford and La Salle's Rodney Green.

Saunders, who leads the Dukes in scoring (15.0 ppg.) and rebounding (11.3 rpg.), has already broken the school record for steals in a season he set last season with 87 in 31 games. A 2010 First Team All-Atlantic 10 selection, Saunders was also named the league's Defensive Player of the Year. Saunders currently ranks second nationally in steals per game (2.8 spg.), sixth in rebounds per game, six in double-doubles (20) and 12th in blocks per game (3.0).

Saunders is bidding to become the first player over 6-7 to lead NCAA Division I in steals per game.

The 6-7 Waterbury, Conn. native is the 12th Duquesne player to be named First Team NABC All-District joining former teammate Aaron Jackson who was named last year. Other DU first-team selections include: Derrick Alston (1994), Mark Stevenson (1990), Rick Suder (1986), Norm Nixon (1977), Willie Somerset (1962, 1964 & 1965), Sihugo Green (1954, 1955 & 1956), Dick Ricketts (1953, 1954 & 1955), Jim Tucker (1954), Chuck Cooper (1950) and Ed Dahler (1950).

Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, the 240 student-athletes, from 24 districts, are eligible for the State Farm Division I All-America teams, to be announced on Saturday, April 3, at 11 a.m. (EDT) at Bracket TownTM in the Indianapolis Convention Center in Indianapolis, Ind., during the NABC Convention and NCAA® Final Four®.




Promo Graphic

Dukes Social

SPONSORED BY:   Schneider Downs


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago