Bell Earns Spot on 2013 CFPA Watch List
Dorian Bell

June 10, 2013

CHARLOTTE, N.C. - College Football Performance Awards, the largest awards organization in D-I college football, recently announced its watch list for the 2013 CFPA Linebacker Award, and Dorian Bell earned a spot on the list. The preliminary watch list highlights 35 returning performers, vying for the top individual linebacker award in the Football Championship Subdivision.

"Congratulations to Dorian Bell on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "After transferring from Ohio State, Bell quickly made his mark on NEC Football. Heading into 2013, Bell will be one of the nation's top defenders to watch."

Bell joins Duquesne wide receiver Gianni Carter on the 2013 CFPA Watch List.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. CFPA recipients performing as NFL linebackers include: Von Miller (Texas A&M), Justin Houston (Georgia), Zach Brown (North Carolina), Luke Kuechly (Boston College), Jarvis Jones (Georgia), Keith Pough (Howard), Greg Jones (Michigan State), Danny Trevathan (Kentucky), Nate Irving (North Carolina State), L.J. Fort (Northern Iowa), Tyler Holmes (Massachusetts), and Ian Sluss (Portland State).

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.

For more information, visit the Official CFPA Website

2013 CFPA Linebacker Award Watch List
• Jarkevis Fields, Bethune-Cookman
• Evan Byers, Bucknell
• Nick Dzubnar, Cal Poly
• Wes Dothard, Chattanooga
• Carl Robinson, The Citadel
• Quinn Backus, Coastal Carolina
• Kris Kent, Colgate
• Jeff Williams, Delaware
Dorian Bell, Duquesne
• Anthony Brown, Eastern Kentucky
• Ronnie Hamlin, Eastern Washington
• Stephon Robertson, James Madison
• Nigel Muhammad, Lehigh
• Nick Sigmon, Liberty
• Dan Sullivan, Monmouth
• Brock Coyle, Montana
• Jordan Tripp, Montana
• Ra'a Moeakiola, Montana State
• Carlton Littlejohn, North Dakota State
• Grant Olson, North Dakota State
• Lynden Trail, Norfolk State
• Jake Farley, Northern Iowa
• Caleb Taylor, Old Dominion
• Dan Davis, Pennsylvania
• Donelle Williams, Presbyterian
• Justin Sexton, Sacred Heart
• Justin Hughes, South Carolina State
• Tyler Starr, South Dakota
• T.J. Lally, South Dakota State
• Bryan Presume, Southern Illinois
• Anthony Balancier, Southern University
• Zak Browning, Southern Utah
• Monte Gaddis, Towson
• Ben Johnson, UT-Martin
• Alvin Scioneaux, Wofford




Promo Graphic

Dukes Social

SPONSORED BY:   Schneider Downs


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago