Ryan Ho Named to College Football Performance Awards Watch List
Ryan Ho has averaged 25.8 yards on 34 career kickoff returns.

July 8, 2013

CFPA Kick Returner Watch List Get Acrobat Reader

CHARLOTTE, N.C. - College Football Performance Awards, the largest awards organization in D-I college football, recently announced its watch list for the 2013 CFPA Kickoff Returner Award and 2013 CFPA All-Purpose Performer of the Year Award. The preliminary watch list highlights 34 returning kick return specialists and 32 returning all-purpose performers, vying for the top individual kickoff returner award and all-purpose award in the Football Championship Subdivision, respectively.

Duquesne's Ryan Ho earned a spot on the 2013 CFPA Kickoff Returner Award Watch List. Ho is the third Duke to be named to CFPA's 2013 watch lists joining linebacker Dorian Bell and receiver Gianni Carter.

"Congratulations to Ryan Ho on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Ho led the NEC in kickoff return average in his freshman season. As a redshirt junior at Duquesne, Ho will be one of the nation's top return specialists to watch."

Ho was Duquesne's third-leading rusher and ranked among the nation's leaders in kickoff returns as a true freshman, before suffering a season-ending ankle injury in the first half of the 2011 opener at Bucknell. He rehabbed to see action in all 11 games last season. The Honolulu native was granted a medical redshirt and will compete as a junior in 2013. He is averaging 25.8 yards on 34 career kickoff returns (34-877).

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections.

The CFPA Kickoff Returner Award dates back to 2008 with Alabama's Javier Arenas earning the inaugural award. Other CFPA recipients performing as NFL return specialists include: Tavon Austin (West Virginia), Giovani Bernard (North Carolina), C.J. Spiller (Clemson), Jayron Hosley (Virginia Tech), Dexter McCluster (Ole Miss), Dez Bryant (Oklahoma State), Golden Tate (Notre Dame), LaMichael James (Oregon), Laron Scott (Georgia Southern), Damian Williams (USC), Taiwan Jones (Eastern Washington), Ryan Broyles (Oklahoma), Eric Page (Toledo), Cliff Harris (Oregon), Justin Blackmon (Oklahoma State), Asa Jackson (Cal Poly), Tyrann Mathieu (LSU), Joe Adams (Arkansas), Fozzy Whittaker (Texas), Jerodis Williams (Furman), Miguel Maysonet (Stony Brook), and Reggie Dunn (Utah).

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.

For more information, visit the Official CFPA Website College Football Performance Awards website. Follow CFPA on Twitter @CFPerformance.




Promo Graphic

Dukes Social

SPONSORED BY:   Schneider Downs


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago