Dorian Bell Named to Buck Buchanan Award Watch List
The Buck Buchanan Award will be presented to the outstanding FCS defensive player on Dec. 16.

July 11, 2013

Sports Network Official Release
Buck Buchanan Award Watch List bios (click BUCHANAN)

PITTSBURGH - Senior linebacker Dorian Bell (Monroeville, Pa./Gateway) made history as the first Duquesne player to be named as a preseason candidate for the Buck Buchanan Award which is given annually to the top defensive player in the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision.

The preseason list of 20 candidates was released by The Sports Network today.

The third-year Ohio State transfer, who was named preseason First Team All-American by TSN on July 1, is coming off an All-American junior season (Third Team by TSN) that saw him post double-digit tackles for six consecutive weeks before suffering a hand injury that sidelined him for the last two games. He led Duquesne in tackles (92 including a team-high 54 solo), tackles for loss (12.0 including a team-high 6.5 sacks) and fumbles forced (3) despite missing three games. His 11.5 tackles per game would have led the NEC and ranked tied for eighth nationally had he met the NCAA minimum requirement for games played (75% of a team's total).

Bell was a First Team all Northeast Conference pick in 2012.

The Buchanan Award Watch List can undergo revision during the 2013 season. Ballots will be sent to a panel of about 175 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries following the regular season. The winner will be invited to The Sports Network FCS Awards Presentation on Dec. 16.

Past Buchanan Award recipients include two-time winner Dexter Coakley, Jared Allen, Rashean Mathis, Kroy Biermann and Montana State defensive end Caleb Schreibeis last season.

This is the 19th year for the Buck Buchanan Award.

Duquesne opens the 2013 season at home against Albany on Aug. 31.

2013 Buck Buchanan Award Watch List

 Dorian Bell     	LB	Duquesne        	Sr.	6-1	234
Clarence Bumpas 	LB	Northern Colorado	Sr.	6-2	236
Qua Cox         	CB	Jackson State   	Sr.	6-0	185
Wes Dothard     	LB	Chattanooga     	Sr.	6-1	235
Steven Godbolt III	CB	Tennessee State  	Jr.	6-1	180
Ronnie Hamlin   	LB	Eastern Washington	Jr.	6-2	210
Antoine Lewis   	DT	Villanova       	Sr.	6-2	290
Jestin Love     	S	Central Arkansas	Sr.	6-0	208
Grant Olson     	LB	North Dakota State	Sr.	6-0	223
Caraun Reid     	DT	Princeton       	Sr.	6-2	305
Stephon Robertson	LB	James Madison   	Sr.	5-11	220
Caleb Schaffitzel	S	Missouri State  	Jr.	6-0	214
Alvin Scioneaux  	LB	Wofford         	Sr.	6-2	215
Robert Simpson  	DT	Miss. Valley State	Sr.	6-4	255
Tyler Starr     	LB	South Dakota    	Sr.	6-4	235
Jaquiski Tartt  	S	Samford         	Jr.	6-1	220
Jordan Tripp    	LB	Montana         	Sr.	6-4	237
Davis Tull      	DE	Chattanooga     	Jr.	6-3	230
Colton Underwood	DE	Illinois State   	Sr.	6-4	260
Marcus Williams 	CB	North Dakota State	Sr.	5-11	194

More on The Sports Network: The Sports Network presents the four major awards in the division - the Walter Payton (FCS outstanding player), the Buck Buchanan (FCS outstanding defensive player), the Jerry Rice (FCS outstanding freshman player) and the Eddie Robinson (FCS coach of the year) - after the season. In addition, TSN presents the FCS's most widely recognized weekly Top 25 poll and weekly awards honoring the nation's top offensive player, defensive player, special teams player and freshman.




Promo Graphic

Dukes Social

SPONSORED BY:   Schneider Downs


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago