Men's Tennis Earns #3 Seed at 2014 Atlantic 10 Championship
The Dukes earned a 1st round bye at the 2014 Atlantic 10 Championship

April 15, 2014

A-10 Championship Central | Championship Bracket

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. ( - The George Washington Colonials have earned the top seed in the 36th annual Atlantic 10 Conference Men's Tennis Championship, to be held April 17-20 at Boar's Head Sports Club in Charlottesville, Va.

Led by three returning All-Conference First Team selections Francisco Dias, Nikita Fomin, and 2013 Most Outstanding Rookie Performer, Danil Zelenkov, the Colonials (14-6) finished the spring ranked No. 54 by the International Tennis Association (ITA), landing as high as No. 51 this season. GW earns a first-round bye and will face the winner of No. 8 Dayton/No. 9 Saint Louis on Friday at 10:00 am.

The Colonials will look to capture a third A-10 Championship in four years, after falling in dramatic fashion last spring to VCU, 4-3. Down 3-1 in singles, GW won the final two thrilling singles matches to force the deciding doubles round. The nearly five-hour long match was a battle with five sets being decided by tiebreakers.

The VCU Rams, reigning 2013 Atlantic 10 Champions, have earned the second seed, finishing 13-12 this spring, including key wins against No.34 N.C. State and No. 11 Mississippi State and head into the championship ranked No. 48. Since joining the league in 2012-13, the Rams are undefeated against conference opponents, including three wins en-route to last year's crown. VCU awaits the winner of No. 7 St. Bonaventure/No. 10 Fordham in Friday's 1:00 pm quarterfinal match.

The Duquesne Dukes, led by 2013 All-Conference Second-Team selections Rich Robbie and Pete Carpenter, completed their spring season with a 15-5 record, including a perfect 6-0 against conference opponents. Duquesne will play the winner of No. 6 Saint Joseph's/No. 11 La Salle in the 1:00 pm quarterfinals on Friday.

Rounding out the top half of the 11-team field are Richmond (fourth), A-10 newcomer, George Mason (fifth), and Saint Joseph's (sixth). St. Bonaventure earns the seven seed, followed by Dayton (eighth), Saint Louis (ninth), Fordham (10th) and La Salle (11th).



Competition begins Thursday, April 17 at 10:00 am at Boar's Head Sports Club in Charlottesville, Va., with the final two matches of the opening round beginning at 1:00 pm. Seeds 1-5 receive a first-round bye and will play in Friday's quarterfinal matches, at 10:00 am and 1:00 pm. The first semifinal match will begin at 10:00 am on Saturday, April 19, while the second semifinal contest will begin at 1:00 pm. The championship match will be played on Sunday, April 20, at 10:00 am. The A-10 Men's Tennis Championship features a four-day, single-elimination format. The winner of the Championship will receive the Conference's automatic bid to compete in the NCAA Tournament. For more information on the Championship, including match results, recaps and photos, please visit the league's online home -
2014 Atlantic 10 Conference Men's Tennis Championship Seeds
1. George Washington
2. VCU
3. Duquesne
4. Richmond
5. George Mason
6. Saint Joseph's
7. St. Bonaventure
8. Dayton
9. Saint Louis
10. Fordham
11. La Salle

Promo Graphic

Dukes Social

SPONSORED BY:   Schneider Downs


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago