Atlantic 10 Conference Announces 2014 Basketball Legends

Jan. 23, 2014

2014 Atlantic 10 Legends Class Get Acrobat Reader

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. - The Atlantic 10 Conference announced Thursday its annual Basketball Legends. The 2014 class includes 26 former men's and women's basketball student-athletes and coaches who made an immeasurable impact on each A-10 institution and its basketball program.

"It is a pleasure and honor to welcome and congratulate the 2014 Atlantic 10 Conference Legends," stated Commissioner Bernadette V. McGlade. "They have distinguished themselves as leaders who have contributed greatly to their University and the A-10 in building the foundation of a great basketball tradition.  It is my wish that each of them enjoy this award, as it is an honor well deserved!"

The Men's Basketball Legends will be honored on March 15 at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, N.Y. prior to the 2014 Men's Basketball Championship semifinals.  The group will be saluted during a celebration awards brunch in the 40/40 Club, beginning at 10:30 a.m.  prior to the A-10 men's semifinal games.



Candace Futrell




The Women's Basketball Legends will be recognized with a brunch on Friday, March 7 prior to the A-10 Championship semifinals.  The event will take place at the Richmond Marriot beginning at 10:00 a.m.

Each institution selected its Legend. The group is made up entirely of former players, all of which began their careers in 1976 or later.

The men's group includes 13 former student-athletes, nine of which went on to play in the NBA, with two winning World Championships and one member Basketball Hall of Fame Inductee (Ed Macauley of Saint Louis).   These Legends combined for seven All-American selections, two National Player of the Year awards and includes a pair of players who later returned to their alma maters to serve as head coaches.

The women's honorees include former student athletes that led their teams to conference championships, NCAA Tournament selections and WNIT appearances.  The group includes a National Champion head coach, four former professionals, including a pair of WNBA members along with All-Americans, A-10 Players of the Year and a Regional NCAA Woman of the Year honoree.

A limited number of brunch tickets are available to the general public. For more information please contact the Atlantic 10 Conference at 757-706-3041.

 Sihugo Green (1954-56) is the only two-time consensus first team All-American in DU history (1955 & 1956). Green, who stood 6-2, averaged 19.8 points and 11.5 rebounds per game for his career. The Brooklyn, N.Y. native scored a game-high 33 points in front of a hometown crowd at Madison Square Garden in Duquesne's 1955 NIT Championship game win over Dayton prompting the New York Post's Milton Gross to write "Si Green, at 6-2, must be the best college basketball player in the country today. In a sense, he is to college basketball what Ray Robinson was to boxing - the best fighter pound for pound." Duquesne went 65-17 with three NIT appearances - including the 1955 NIT title - in Green's three-year career. Green, who finished his career with 1,605 points and 936 rebounds, went on to have a nine-year NBA career, capped by a World Champ­ionship with the 1966 Boston Celtics. He passed away on Oct. 4, 1980.

Candace Futrell- Duquesne
Futrell graduated as the second all-time leading scorer in Duquesne history, scoring 1,668 points in a four-year career. During her career at Duquesne, she scored 30 points on six occasions including a career-high 36 her senior season. She still ranks in the top five at Duquesne in points, scoring average (15.4), field goals (573) and 3-pointers (183). The 2004 Co-Atlantic 10 Player of the Year, Futrell led the league in scoring her senior season. She was also a three-time All-Conference honoree (2002, 2003, 2004). After Duquesne, she was drafted in the third round of the 2004 WNBA draft by the Connecticut Sun. In 2009, she was inducted into the Duquesne Sports Hall of Fame. Originally a native of Altoona, Pennsylvania, Futrell currently lives in Gainesville, Florida.

About the A-10
The Atlantic 10 Conference was formed in 1976 and consists of 13 diverse members across seven states and Washington, D.C. The membership consists of University of Dayton, Duquesne University, Fordham University, George Mason University, The George Washington University, La Salle University, the University of Massachusetts, the University of Rhode Island, University of Richmond, St. Bonaventure University, Saint Joseph’s University, Saint Louis University and Virginia Commonwealth University. The mission and goal of the Atlantic 10 is to provide an enhanced student-athlete experience through 21 nationally competitive championship sports, while securing strong brand, equity, and revenue resources for its member institutions. The conference is committed to integrity, educational excellence and providing quality equitable championship experiences for its student-athletes, coaches, and staff. 




Promo Graphic

Dukes Social

SPONSORED BY:   Schneider Downs


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago