Women's Tennis Prepares for A-10 Championship
Judy Li and the Dukes will face Fordham in the first round of the A-10 Championship

April 16, 2013

2013 A-10 Championship BracketGet Acrobat Reader

from www.Atlantic10.com

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. - Playing for their first chance at the Atlantic 10 title, the VCU Rams have earned the top seed in the 30th Annual Atlantic 10 Conference Women's Tennis Championship, to be held April 18-21 at the Boar's Head Sports Club in Charlottesville, Va., for the second straight year.

The Rams, who are riding a nine-match win streak and have won 11 out of their last 12, look to take home a second consecutive conference title and make their 14th trip to the NCAA tournament. Under the direction of coach Paul Kostin, VCU finished the regular season 18-4 and heads into the A-10 Championship ranked 38th by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA). The Rams will face 16th seeded La Salle in the first round on Thursday.

Xavier finished its spring season with a 17-5 overall record and went undefeated (9-0) against conference opponents to earn the second seed in this year's Championship. The Musketeers have been led by freshman standout, Alex Brinker, who has posted 20 consecutive singles victories this spring. Xavier will take on the 15th-seeded St. Bonaventure for the second time in a week in their first round match.

The 2012 Championship finalists Massachusetts and Richmond, earned this year's third and fourth seeds, respectively. The Minutewomen have won their last four matches and finished with an overall record of 14-5. Massachusetts will play the 14 seed Dayton on Thursday. The Spiders, who claimed their fourth-straight conference title in 2012, will face 13th-seeded Butler in Thursday's morning session.

Rounding out the 16-team field are Charlotte (fifth), George Washington (sixth), Fordham (seventh), Saint Louis (eighth), Temple (ninth), Duquesne (10th), Saint Joseph's (11th), Rhode Island (12th), Butler (13th), Dayton (14th), St. Bonaventure (15th) and La Salle (16th).

Each of the A-10's 16 teams will begin competition on Thursday, April 18 at 9:00am, with the final matches of the first round slated to start at 6:00pm. Quarterfinal matches will be played Friday, April 19 at 10:00am and 1:00pm. Semifinal action commences with the final four teams on Saturday, April 20 at 10:00am, while the championship finale is set for Sunday, April 21 at 10:00am.

The A-10 Women's Tennis Championship features a four-day, single-elimination format. The winner of the Championship will receive the Conference's automatic bid to compete in the NCAA Tournament. For more information on the Championship, including match results, recaps and photos, visit the league's online home - atlantic10.com.




Promo Graphic

Dukes Social

SPONSORED BY:   Schneider Downs


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago